selfhosted
Selfhosted rehydrate5503 9h ago 91%

NFS mount disappearing

Hi all,

I’m having an issue with an NFS mount that I use for serving podcasts through audibookshelf. The issue has been ongoing for months, and I’m not sure where the problem is and how to start debugging.

My setup:

  • Unraid with NFS share “podcasts” set up
  • Proxmox on another machine, with VM running Fedora Server 40.
  • Storage set up in Fedora to mount the “podcasts” share on boot, works fine
  • docker container on the same Fedora VM has Audiobookshelf configured with the “podcasts” mount passed through in the docker-compose file.

The issue:

NFS mount randomly drops. When it does, I need to manually mount it again, then restart the Audiobookshelf container (or reboot the VM, but I have other services).

There doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason to the unmount. It doesn’t coincide to any scheduled updates or spikes in activity. No issue on the Unraid side that I can see. Sometimes it drops over night, sometimes mid day. Sometimes it’s fine for a week, other times I’m remounting twice a day. What has finally forced me to seek help is the other day I was listening to a podcast, paused for 10-15 mins and couldn’t restart the episode until I went through the manual mount procedure. I checked and it was not due to the disk sinning down.

I’ve tried updating everything I could, issue persists. I only just updated to Fedora 40. It was on 38 previously and initially worked for many months without issue, then randomly started dropping the NFS mounts (I tried setting up other share mounts and same problem). Update to 39, then 40 and issue persists.

I’m not great with logs but I’m trying to learn. Nothing sticks out so far.

Does anyone have any ideas how I can debug and hopefully fix this?

10
6
Comments 6