gondaily
gondaily gon 4d ago 100%

Snacks as a metaphor for my future

I've made the executive decision to cut snacks out of my diet.

For a couple of days now, the lunch at the canteen has been incredible; looking at the menu tomorrow, this streak is likely to continue. I got a coupon for 15% off some chips, today, and I took it and went to buy some chips.

After I ate them, I thought to myself that that had been a monumentally stupid decision. It was impulsive and just wrong. Not only did I not need chips, I didn't even really want chips. It cost me just over a euro, I could afford them, but I didn't need nor want to. Why did I do it? Well, because I like chips, that's why. They didn't even taste that good, especially with the stupidity of the purchase weighting on my mind.

I could've bought bananas, or plums, or apples, or something else. There's oranges growing in the yard. I actually picked a couple big ones after eating the chips and just thought to myself, once again, how stupid of a purchase that had been. I could've just picked the oranges to begin with and skip the damned chips.

These small habits, I wager, are a symptom of a big problem I have with self-control and discipline. I watched a YouTube video today that hammered that point for me, as well.

I'm determined to change. For my future.

I have things lined up. All I have to do is bat.

I'll be trying really hard to hit, from now on. No excuses.

8
2
Comments 2