broadmcu

2024 Harrison Ford: Rejecting Marvel roles is 'Silly' when audiences love it

2024 Harrison Ford: Rejecting Marvel roles is 'Silly' when audiences love it

Harrison Ford Says Avoiding Marvel Roles Is ‘Silly’ When MCU Films Provide ‘Good Experiences for an Audience,’ Calls the Death of Movie Stars ‘Rubbish’
By Zack Sharf Oct 14, 2024 2:50pm PT

I mean, this is the Marvel universe and I’m just there on a weekend pass. I’m a sailor new to this town,” Ford said about his MCU debut. “I understand the appeal of other kinds of films besides the kind we made in the ’80s and ’90s. I don’t have anything general to say about it. It’s the condition our condition is in, and things change and morph and go on. We’re silly if we sit around regretting the change and don’t participate. I’m participating in a new part of the business that, for me at least, I think is really producing some good experiences for an audience. I enjoy that.”

I don’t think the question is whether or not there are any movie stars. There’s wonderful actors coming up every day,” Ford told GQ. “Whether or not they become movie stars is really not the point. If movies need stars, they will find them. I’ve never fucking understood being a movie star. I’m an actor. I tell stories. I’m part of a group of people who work together, collaborate on telling stories. I’m an assistant storyteller. That’s what I am.”

31
11
Comments 11