pop
Dirty Pop worldwidewave 1y ago 37%

Ray Romano Ranks His Four Children, Says No. 1 and 3 Have Flipped ‘For a Number of Reasons’

people.com

The 'Everybody Loves Raymond' star made the quip during a performance at The Event fundraiser hosted by Shaquille O'Neal to raise funds for his The Shaquille O'Neal Foundation

Ray Romano's four kids are trading places on his "favorites" list!

“My order of favorites has changed,” the “Everybody Loves Raymond” actor joked during a comedy set at The Event at MGM Grand in Las Vegas on Saturday. The fundraiser was held by NBA legend Shaquille O'Neal to benefit his The Shaquille O'Neal Foundation and during his set, Romano, 65, took the opportunity to poke fun at his offspring and how his ranking off them has recently changed.

“I thought it was locked in. I thought [No. 4] is still four because he's horrible. He's not going anywhere," the actor joked. "He's happy. But one and three flipped for a number of reasons.”

Romano and his wife, Anna Romano, share a daughter Alexandra, 33, twins Matt and Gregory, 30, and son Joseph, 25.

During the set, Romano said he and Greg, who had previously been his third favorite, were in the kitchen when his wife started “screaming” about pee on the bathroom floor.

“Greg looked at me and he could see the guilt in my eyes, and I did not ask him to do this. He just turned to the bathroom and went, ‘It was me, mom,’” Romano said. “He took a bullet for his father. That's No. 1. That's the new No. 1. He jumped two spots.”

Prior to that moment, Alexandra had been the apple of the actor's eye. In fact, he revealed she had been the favorite since the day she was born, and “rightfully so,” he said.

“She's smarter than [the other kids.] She works harder than them. But she wouldn't have done that,” the comedy legend said of the hilarious pee incident.

“I mean, technically she couldn't have done that. She couldn't have convinced my wife. No, my wife knew it was a male who got pee all over the floor.”

Romano’s ranking confession came during a comedy set at O’Neal’s charity event for his foundation — which helps underprivileged youth in Atlanta and Las Vegas — and he didn't miss the chance to playfully roast his youngest child, Joe, who he said places at No. 4.

“I don't know how to describe this kid. I can't tell if he's the dumbest kid in the world or maybe the other way around. He might be the deepest kid,” Romano said. “All I know is he says stuff that I don't know how to react to.”

Joe, who still lives at home, recently went to a party and came home at 6 a.m. the actor explained.

“I get out of bed, go in the hallway and I'm like, ‘Joe, you come home at 6 a.m.?’ And he just keeps walking and goes ‘for now,’” Romano recalled.

“Huh? What? What? I went down a hole. I went down a black existential hole from two words out of this kid's mouth. Oh, it was bad. I went in the bedroom and my wife said ‘Did you find out where he was?’ And I'm like, 'Where are any of us? I don't even know if I'm here.’”

Back in April, Romano spoke to PEOPLE about his family and how they feel about being an inspiration for his work, including his directorial debut for his 2023 movie Somewhere in Queens.

"I think they like that I get creative inspiration from them," Romano said. "They read rough drafts of the script. My wife, not as much as my kids."

"I've been married to her for 35 years and I've been in the business for just about that long," he explained. "So she's supportive, but she's not as on top of it as my kids are."

However, he added that when it comes to family members, he is mindful about what to divulge. "I never do it at their expense," he said, adding that his kids have never objected to what he has wanted to include, but that his wife has had a few words about it in the past.

"My wife, on occasion, when our TV show was on, and we'd have an argument and she'd turn and say, 'I don't want to see this on the show.' And I would say, 'We already did that episode.'"

-2
0
Comments 0